Silver Shadow

Silversea

Ship Reviews

Overall Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Submit your review Cruise reviews reflect the opinions of travel editors and cruisers/ readers and may not represent those of our company.

Silver Shadow 9 night Caribbean cruise

November

Pros: Incredible food , wine and spirits, Suite walk-in closet, overall service, smaller ship size

Cons: none

Recommended: No

Our experience was a pure delight! The suite size with a walk-in closet has spoiled us forever. Each meal was amazing as if we were dining at our favorite 5 star restaurants. We really appreciated the overall friendly, knowledgeable and attentive staff and crew. SilverSea really knows how to do "All-Inclusive" with class and expertise.

SCORECARD

Staff
Dining
Entertainment
Activities
Cabins/Staterooms
Itinerary/Ports
Value

Silversea Shadow September 5, 2023

September

Pros: Unlimited pros... From service, entertainment, food, stateroom, all superb

Cons: NONE

Recommended: No

We departed Quebec City and finished 10 nights later in NYC.  Pier 90. My favorite stop was Newport, Rhode Island and my 2nd favorite was Peggy's Cove in Nova Scotia.  Simply beautiful.  September 5, 2023 was a lil too early this year to see any leaves changing.  If you want to see color I would elect to sail mid September- mid October MAX.  
We had outstanding service with all such beautiful smiles.  Small ships are becoming more enjoyable as my years on this earth climb.  Highly recommend a SILVERSEA experience.   
NOTHING to report that was Negative.   

SCORECARD

Staff
Dining
Entertainment
Activities
Cabins/Staterooms
Itinerary/Ports
Value

Cruise to Alaska, June 30 on Silver Shadow

July

Pros: Ship clean, well taken care of, high level of service.

Cons: Dress code should be enforced better than it was.

Recommended: No

There were 262 guests on this ship on this cruise where the ship can accommodate @380 guests. With reduced numbers service was enhanced and all onboard performed well.

SCORECARD

Staff
Dining
Entertainment
Activities
Cabins/Staterooms
Itinerary/Ports
Value

A country club at Sea

September

Pros: Size of ship, service, personal buttler, walk in closets, bathtub with separate shower

Cons: Needs updating, more staff training on IPad ordering.

Recommended: No

Silversea Shadow will be dry docked in Nov 2019 , so it is no surprise that it is in need of some sprucing up. Silversea met the challenge of providing a great cruise experience. The cabins are well-appointed, with walk-in closets, bathtubs and separate showers. Lounge area with desk, couch and coffee table were spacious. I loved multiple choices of toiletries. Wifi worked well and was included in our package. The intimate size of the ship and guest/ staff ration made it feel like a country club at sea. Where Silversea really excelled is in first-class service. Our buttler anticipated our every need. Staff at the pool and other main areas were attentive with beverages. The remodeling of the La Dame restaurant, Connoisseur's Corner and the casino will be well received. Dining was like being in a five-star restaurant with a nice lounge/ bar for a pre-dinner drink. When in port it was a seamless experience getting on and off the ship. The access to bottled water and beach towels when boarding and exiting the ship was a nice touch. Nightlife and activities could be more varied and plentiful. The DJ/Disco area was busy with the same small crowd each night, so, apparently, that was not something that would need expansion. Staff were attentive, however, sometimes apparently harried and inexperienced. When dining in the main dining room the staff did not seem knowledgeable of the menu and had difficulty using the ipad when completing orders. The constant asking for cabin numbers was annoying. Even restaurants that were serving buffet style needed the information prior to seating you. I found the scheduled times for lunch limiting, and the pool should have service throughout the day. We were told we could order in our rooms or  Butler could provide service on deck. With the new Arts Café, I trust this will not the case anymore. Shopping was very limited and the casino was deserted, however, it sounds like that will be addressed with the refurbishing. Excited to see the new Open-plan atrium. Spa and fitness activities while somewhat limited and small but were adequate. Outdoor dining was a true treat however in need of some more outdoor heaters. The outdoor jogging/walking path could be improved with a better location. The day at sea it was very clogged with people trying to place chairs in the path. The overall journey was a fabulous experience and I highly recommended it.

SCORECARD

Staff
Dining
Entertainment
Activities
Cabins/Staterooms
Itinerary/Ports
Value

Great experience

September

Pros: Staff, weather was perfect for us, food was delicious, excursions were memorable.

Cons: N/a

Recommended: Yes

The staff is exceptional and very attentive. There are many activities onboard as well like trivia, the casino, cooking lessons, movie screening, and auctions. The wide variety of food makes it hard to choose what to eat because it all tastes so delicious.

SCORECARD

Staff
Dining
Entertainment
Activities
Cabins/Staterooms
Itinerary/Ports
Value

Asia to Alaska aboard the Silver Shadow

May

Pros: Staff were wonderful; Food was delightful; Ports visited were memorable.

Cons: None

Recommended: No

This is a wonderful way to see some of Asia, then begin the Alaska season. I cannot say enough about the level of service afforded guests onboard this ship. A truly enjoyable experience.

SCORECARD

Staff
Dining
Entertainment
Activities
Cabins/Staterooms
Itinerary/Ports
Value

Terrific ship, crew, service, food!

November

Pros: Solo travelers get together each evening, excellent help from crew.

Cons: Entertainers were not good. Sadly, after the first show, we quit going.

Recommended: Yes

I would definitely take another Silversea cruise in the future. Ports were exotic and shore excursions were mostly well run and excellent choices. Pouring rain while riding the elephant in Koh Samui was an adventure of a lifetime.

SCORECARD

Staff
Dining
Entertainment
Activities
Cabins/Staterooms
Itinerary/Ports
Value
Silver Shadow  |  Cruises

20-night 2024 World Cruise - Chapter 6: A Bridge Across Time04/21/2024from $13,100

12-night Canada and New England Cruise06/30/2024from $7,400

10-night Canada and New England Cruise09/08/2024from $8,700

7-night Central America Cruise 12/17/2024from $5,000

11-night South Pacific Cruise03/26/2025from $8,900

83-night Grand North Atlantic and Northern Europe Cruise06/11/2025CALL

11-night New England and Canada Cruise09/13/2025from $11,000

9-night Southern Caribbean Cruise12/19/2025from $6,900

7-night Caribbean Cruise02/26/2026from $5,900

View all 75 Silver Shadow Cruise Offers...